Paranormal Romance Review!

Yes, yes. I know I missed a few days. Its been a crazy week. Had several job interviews, an overloaded school schedule. On a very good note I received a job offer! It’s perfect because it will work around my school schedule yet allow me to be home in time to do homework with the kiddos! Loving it! 

So because I have been neglecting my blog duties I have a great book recommendation/review for you today. 

 

14623563Title: Blood Guilt

Series: Blood Hunter Series

Author: Marie Treanor

Genre: Paranormal, Vampire

Number of pages: 301

Time it took me to read: 15 days

Goodreads Synopsis:

The first of a new vampire romance series, a sequel to the Awakened by Blood trilogy.

Mihaela, a fearless vampire hunter secretly haunted by loneliness and childhood tragedy, finds it difficult to adjust to the new world order where vampires are not always the bad guys. She’s taking a much needed vacation in Scotland when she sees a little boy being chased through the streets of Edinburgh. Rescuing him brings bigger problems – two vampires from her past: Gavril, who killed her family; and the reclusive and troubled Maximilian, gifted Renaissance artist and one-time overlord of the most powerful undead community in the world. Maximilian once saved her life and now needs that favor returned.

The earth moves for Mihaela in more ways than one. From Scotland to Budapest and Malta, she races against time to prevent a disastrous, vampire-induced earthquake and save an innocent yet powerful child – all while fighting a dreadful attraction to Maximilian, her only ally, whom she can’t afford to trust. For Maximilian, the hunter becomes a symbol of renewed existence, as he struggles to accept his past and rediscovers his appetite for blood and sex – and maybe even happiness.

My review:

I received a copy of this book via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed the story telling of Marie Treanor. Not only was this read a roller coaster for my emotions but it was exciting and fun. This is the first in the Blood Hunters Series but is the sequel to the Awakened by Blood trilogy. I did find it a bit frustrating that I felt a detachment from Elizabeth and Saloman who are apparently the main characters in the trilogy. I would highly suggest taking the time to read the trilogy first if you want a full understanding of these two. It doesn’t take away from the story yet my intrigue into their lives was very distracting.

Okay, so on to the first main character Mihaela. She is described as one tough cookie in the book several times and while she can definitely kick some vampire butt it seems that the main focus was to show how broken and hallow she truly was, almost too much. It needed a balance so that she didn’t sound weak and still keep her kick ass persona that she has going on. She was on her back a lot in the book and Oh can Treanor write a steamy sex scene. I still enjoyed Mihaela’s character and wanted to smack her a few times for her stubbornness.

Now on to Maximilian. He is a very old vampire and I really appreciated that his history was given in the book. He has been hidden away for years because of the guilt he has for betraying his maker over the desire to rule. Through his artist side you can tell that he has a lot of bottled up emotions and Mihaela is just the right person to help him come back to “life” and want to participate in the world again. Honestly, you can’t help but fall in love with Maximilian and that just makes his loving so much fun to read.

Maximilian and Mihaela are drawn to a child that is being chased through the streets of Scotland by vampires because of his telepathic powers that they want to use for evil. What? You didn’t think the book was just about the romance between Maximilian and Mihaela did you? Nope, Treanor gives a wonderful story line and puts it all together beautifully.

I definitely recommend this steamy read to those who love paranormal romance and sizzling love scenes. I will definitely be reading the next in the series and am contemplating on reading the Awakened by Blood trilogy as well.

Happy reading!

 My rating:

Star half Star Star half Star half Star

 

 

 

Interested in the book? Find it on Amazon

To see the other works by Marie Treanor, visit her website

Leave a comment